Rams Hand Out Team Awards

Posted Jan 6, 2011

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Each year, the Rams honor four players with special awards: the Daniel F. Reeves Memorial Award, the Carroll Rosenbloom Memorial Award, the Carl Ekern Spirit of the Game Award and the Ed Block Courage Award.

RB Steven Jackson, QB Sam Bradford, S Oshiomogho Atogwe and CB Bradley Fletcher are the 2010 recipients of the Rams’ team awards, as voted by their teammates.

Jackson, who was recently named to his third Pro Bowl after rushing for 1,241 yards and six touchdowns, was honored with the Daniel F. Reeves Memorial award, which is given to the team’s Most Valuable Player. During a season in which he became the Rams’ all-time leading rusher, Jackson recorded his sixth-consecutive 1,000-yard campaign, the longest active streak in the NFL.

The Daniel F. Reeves Memorial Award was established in 1969 in honor of the former owner of the Rams, Dan Reeves, who was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1967. Reeves owned the Rams from 1941-71 and claimed World Championships in 1945 and 1951. He was the first to integrate football in the modern era with the signing of Woody Strode and Kenny Washington in 1946.

Bradford set NFL rookie records for completions (354) and attempts (590) en route to winning the Carroll Rosenbloom Memorial Award. Bradford’s 3,512 passing yards were the second most by a rookie in NFL history, trailing only Peyton Manning’s 3,739 in 1998, and his 18 touchdowns are tied for fifth most among rookies in NFL history.

The Carroll Rosenbloom Memorial Award, given to the team’s Rookie of the Year, was established following the passing of former owner Carroll Rosenbloom in 1979. Rosenbloom became the owner of the Rams when he orchestrated an unprecedented franchise trade in 1972. Rosenbloom traded the Baltimore Colts to Robert Irsay for the Rams. The Rams won an NFL-record seven consecutive NFC West titles from 1973-79 under Rosenbloom’s leadership.

Atogwe took home the Carl Ekern Spirit of the Game Award in recognition of his leadership on and off the field. He finished fourth among Rams with 87 tackles and second with three interceptions while starting 15 games. Established in 1990, the award is given to the player who best exemplifies sportsmanship, ethic, and commitment to his teammates. Those traits were displayed by former Rams linebacker Carl Ekern, killed in an automobile accident in 1990. Ekern was a starter for the Rams from 1982-88 and earned an invitation to the Pro Bowl in 1986.

CB Bradley Fletcher was named the Rams’ recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award after Fletcher bounced back from a severe knee injury in 2009 to lead St. Louis in interceptions this season. He underwent an operation to reconstruct his Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL), and after rehabbing from his first surgery, he again went under the knife, this time to repair and reconstruct his Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL). Fletcher made it back to the field for the start of training camp and was a huge asset to the Rams.

Ed Block was the head trainer for the Baltimore Colts for 23 years. When the Ed Block Courage Award was founded in 1978, it honored a Colts player for showing courage on and off the field. In 1984, it became a league-wide award honoring one member from each NFL team. Proceeds from the award and the Ed Block Foundation go to support and provide housing for abused children.