Rams News | Los Angeles Rams - therams.com

2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees announced

The 32 player nominees for the sixth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY, SR.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – WARRICK DUNN, Pro Football Hall of Famer CURTIS MARTIN, KARL MECKLENBURG and LEONARD WHEELER – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 13.

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.


Table inside Article
2018QB Drew BreesNew Orleans Saints
2017LB Luke KuechlyCarolina Panthers
2016RB Frank GoreIndianapolis Colts
2015CB Charles WoodsonOakland Raiders
2014WR Larry FitzgeraldArizona Cardinals

The winner, selected by the vote of the players, will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 1 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LIV. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.


Arizona Cardinals: C A.Q. Shipley

Los Angeles Chargers: LB Thomas Davis Sr.

Atlanta Falcons: WR Julio Jones

Los Angeles Rams: S Eric Weddle

Baltimore Ravens: QB Lamar Jackson

Miami Dolphins: C Daniel Kilgore

Buffalo Bills: LB Lorenzo Alexander

Minnesota Vikings: DE Danielle Hunter

Carolina Panthers: RB Christian McCaffrey

New England Patriots: WR Matthew Slater

Chicago Bears: DB Kyle Fuller

New Orleans Saints: T Terron Armstead

Cincinnati Bengals: DE Sam Hubbard

New York Giants: DL Dalvin Tomlinson

Cleveland Browns: RB Nick Chubb

New York Jets: DL Steve McLendon

Dallas Cowboys: CB Byron Jones

Oakland Raiders: QB Derek Carr

Denver Broncos: LB Von Miller

Philadelphia Eagles: QB Carson Wentz

Detroit Lions: QB Matthew Stafford

Pittsburgh Steelers: RB James Conner

Green Bay Packers: CB Tramon Williams

San Francisco 49ers: T Joe Staley

Houston Texans: QB Deshaun Watson

Seattle Seahawks: LB K.J. Wright

Indianapolis Colts: WR T.Y. Hilton

Tampa Bay Buccaneers: LB Lavonte David

Jacksonville Jaguars: DL Calais Campbell

Tennessee Titans: C Ben Jones

Kansas City Chiefs: QB Patrick Mahomes

Washington Redskins: RB Adrian Peters

Related Content